Teavana

Happy Monday!  It’s been a hectic but productive one. 🙂

On both of my journeys of losing weight and finding zen in my life, I have found myself turning to tea more often.  Yes, it may sound weird to some but there is something so relaxing and zen about tea.  It is now my go to in the mornings to lift my spirits and my go to at night to relax.  Its kind of my little oasis from the world.  The other night felt so amazing with my cup of tea in one hand and a book in the other.  (Current read:  Outliers by Malcolm Gladwell)  What can I say I’m a simple girl! (My mother’s daughter for sure!)  I have also turned to tea for weight loss as I am known to drown my coffee with tons of creamer and sugar.  :-/

Any time I try something, I definitely try to educate myself and become more knowledgeable about the specific topic.  This whole tea thing was no different for me.  I definitely have been trying to immerse myself in it by reading and doing research on the different types of teas and of course finding out what their health benefits were.  I have been blown away by all the information there is about tea.  One of the first things I learned was that loose leaf tea is definitely better than bagged tea.  You get the tea in its original form, therefore you benefit from it even more.

My coworker and I have been experimenting with different flavors of teas and she suggested I try the tea store, Teavana.  While out with my mother and sister we bumped into a Teavana on the Upper East Side of Manhattan and I definitely had to go in.  I was amazed!  (and now I am a bit obsessed)  They have all types of different teas a long with tools that will help you make the perfect tea.  My mom and I tried their two newest blends and I automatically fell in love with their Mahajara Chai Oolong and Samurai Chai Mate tea blend.  It’s extremely bold in flavor.  It has the perfect blend of ginger, cinnamon, black peppercorn, cloves and nutmeg.  (with some fruit extracts to add some sweetness) YUM! I bought a couple of other things that have made my tea experience awesome.  Can’t wait to go back and sample some more teas to purchase!!

So of course when FitFluential had their twitter chat a couple of days ago and asked what was the perfect gift to give for relaxation, I immediately tweeted them about my tea obsession and Teavana.

What do you do for the ultimate relaxation?

Leave a Reply

